The other night as we were getting into bed, my husband decided to casually drop the question, “Kristin, what is your dream career?” At that specific moment my only dream was to go to sleep, but for the sake of conversation I chose to play along.

The answer to that question has changed probably a dozen times in the last 5 years. If you had asked me when I was a 3rd grader, I would have told you I wanted to be a teacher (because I had a BOMB teacher). If you had asked me in high school, I would have told you I wanted to be a Strength and Conditioning coach. If you had asked me as a freshman in college, I would have told you I wanted to be a Physical Therapist. If you would have asked me as a senior in college, I would have told you I wanted to be a Personal Trainer. But if you were to ask me right now, I would tell that I want to be a wife, and eventually, a mom.

No, that’s not weird. It’s the truth! And my husband has known this since our first date. I’ve thought about it over and over again, and deep down in the core of my gut, that is my dream career. I want to be a wife. And I want to be a mom. I want to run a household, cook dinner, clean, do laundry, and raise a whole HERD of Jesus-loving babies. When I picture myself in 5 years, 10 years, 15 years, I simply cannot see myself doing anything else. Could I do all of these things and still have a career outside our home? Of course. I know plenty of women who have more responsibility in the first 10 minutes of their day at their job than I’ve had my whole life, and are totally rocking the mom gig too.

But that’s just not my dream.

Everyone may not understand that. In fact, based on the looks I get when I tell people this, I know they don’t. And I’m okay with that. I realize that these dreams may never come to fruition, and I could wake up tomorrow and completely change my mind. But right now, after this conversation with my husband comes to an end, that’s the career I’ll be dreaming about.

Kristin Majerus

Hello! My name is Kristin. I'm originally from central Nebraska but currently find myself in Omaha. My heart belongs to two people: 1. Jesus and 2. my husband and cat daddy Taylor. I work as a Personal Trainer and Taylor is working his way through Physical Therapy school, so I'm rocking the whole "married with no kids while my husband is in school single income family" thing. While Taylor is up to his eyeballs in textbooks and thera-bands, I can usually be found reading, writing, or working on making our one bedroom apartment a home. I'm so excited to share pieces of my life with you guys, and hope you find joy in following along. You can learn everything about me and then some at my personal blog